Subscribe here to receive your free tip weekly

Museums in the Macarthur Region

Camden Museum
40 John St, Camden NSW 2570
Phone 02 4655 3400
Entry Free
Open Thursday - Sunday 11am - 4pm
Website Please click here
The history of the Camden district is as old as Australia itself and the Town's unique heritage unfolds in the exhibited stories and displays as you wander through the large collection of Aboriginal and 20th century material which has been donated by the people of the Town and district. These things reflect the every day and familiar experiences that most of us share; joy and grief, recreation and work, caring and learning, past and present. Come and enjoy and celebrate the stories of Camden and it's people.


Camden Museum of Aviation
11 Stewart St, Narellan NSW 2567
Phone 02 4648 2419
Entry Small fee
Open Sunday and Public Holidays 10:30am - 4:30pm
Website Please click here
The Camden Museum of Aviation, has a large specialist aircraft collection. The military aircraft of the RAAF, Army Aviation and Fleet Air Arm are restored wherever possible to taxiable, not flyable, standard. Correct wartime markings and camouflage colours are researched with service records and photographs, whilst authentic cockpit instruments are installed and electrical, fuel, hydraulic and pneumatic systems made operable wherever possible. All exhibits are undercover.


East Campbelltown Soldier Settler Museum
East Campbelltown Public School, Waminda Ave, Campbelltown NSW 2560
Phone 02 4626 2022
This Primary School has built a museum to honour the ‘soldier settlers’ of East Campbelltown. They also restored a 1961 classroom to house the museum, which is open to the public.


Glenalvon Stables Museum
Glenalvon, 8 Lithgow St, Campbelltown
Phone 02 4625 1822
Entry Free
Open First Saturday of the month
Website Please click here
The Museum aims to collect and preserve items and information relevant to the history of the Campbelltown district and to present them in an interesting and educative manner. Museum open days have special themes and activities. The museum is also open by appointment; coach and school groups are very welcome.


Minto Public School Museum
Cnr Pembroke and Redfern Rds, Minto NSW 2566
Phone 02 9603 2406
One of the Department of Education's solutions to the problem of educating children in isolated communities in the 1940s was converting railway carriages into mobile classrooms and teacher's residences. Reminiscent of this is Minto Public School's railway carriage museum which provides a unique facility as a period classroom and showcase for the many historical artefacts that have been donated and acquired during the school's 131 years. Stories from the early years of the school make lively reading. The most poignant of these is the story of the school's first teacher, Nanno Clarke, who died of starvation, having no money to buy food.


Quondong Cottage
Old Menangle Rd, Campbelltown NSW 2560
Phone 02 4645 4921
Entry Free
Open 7 days a week
Website Please click here
Quondong was the first Catholic school house in Campbelltown, built in 1840, Quondong is now a visitor information centre with museum display rooms. See artifacts of Australian history, sit at an old school desk, hear some old school lessons and go on a guided tour around the centre. There are regular changing exhibitions as well.


Wollondilly Heritage Centre
Edward St, The Oaks NSW 2570
Phone 02 4657 1796
Entry $2 per person
Open Every weekend and Public Holidays 10am - 4pm
Website Please click here
Wollondilly has a fascinating rural history which can be best understood by visiting The Wollondilly Heritage Centre in the small village of The Oaks. The Wollondilly Heritage Centre is a Social History Museum and Local and Family History Research Centre. It collects, conserves and interprets local history in Exhibitions, Publications, Special Events and Education Programs. The one acre complex includes an Exhibition Centre, an Audio-Visual Theatre and Community Room, a furnished Timber Slab and Iron Cottage, a working Fruit-grader and associated displays. The Collection reflects the lives of ordinary working men and women involved in agriculture, horticulture, silver and coal-mining, timber-getting,  road and dam building. The Heritage Centre was opened in 1988 as part of the Bicentennial Project and is operated by volunteers from The Oaks Historical Society.


Interesting Museum websites to visit

Australian Museums and Galleries Please click here
Museums and Galleries of NSW Please click here
NSW Department of Education Museums Please click here